Answers to frequently asked questions

FAQ

If you have any questions about our SARS-CoV-2 immunoassays or antigens, please contact our product management per Email: pm@virion-serion.de.

Please note that we are manufacturer of test systems as well as antigens and therefore are not allowed to make any recommendations regarding diagnosis and therapy options of SARS-CoV-2. For questions regarding diagnosis recommendations and therapy, please contact your physician or your local health authority.

General questions

When is it useful to use an antibody test?

Within the first week after the onset of symptoms, qRT-PCR is used as a reliable method for detecting SARS-CoV-2 infection. As the infection progresses, the combination of qRT-PCR and antibody tests is optimal for accurate diagnosis [1, 2, 3, 4, 5] . The diagnostic sensitivity is significantly increased to 98.6% by the combination of IgM ELISA with qRT-PCR compared with a single qRT-PCR test (51.9%)[3].
The sole use of antibody detection is particularly important in the later stages of infection, when the virus has already been eliminated by the host’s immune response [6]. According to current recommendations of the German National Association of Statutory Health Insurance, it is reasonable to use antibody tests from two weeks after the onset of symptoms [7]
In addition to the diagnostic value of antibody tests, they can be used for epidemiological purposes to identify individuals who have developed an immunity after infection that may protect against subsequent re-infection [8], and to define and monitor the extent of virus spread and the population immunity at the societal level.

[1] To KK et al. Articles Temporal profiles of viral load in posterior oropharyngeal saliva samples and serum antibody responses during infection by SARS-CoV-2 : an observational cohort study. Lancet Infect Dis 2020;3099:1–10.

[2] Jia X. et al., “Clinical Significance of IgM and IgG Test for Diagnosis of Highly Suspected COVID-19 Infection“, preprint (Infectious Diseases (except HIV/AIDS), March 3rd 2020)

[3] Guo L. et al., “Profiling Early Humoral Response to Diagnose Novel Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19)“, Clinical Infectious Diseases, March 21st 2020,

[4] Nisreen M.A. Okba et al., “SARS-CoV-2 Specific Antibody Responses in COVID-19 Patients“, preprint (Infectious Diseases (except HIV/AIDS), March 20th 2020)

[5] Amanat F. et al., “A Serological Assay to Detect SARS-CoV-2 Seroconversion in Humans“, preprint (Allergy and Immunology, March 18th 2020)

[6] Zou L, et al. SARS-CoV-2 Viral Load in Upper Respiratory Specimens of Infected Patients. N Engl J Med 2020.

[7] kassenärztlichen Bundesvereinigung https://www.kbv.de/html/1150_46092.php

[8] Bao L, et al. Reinfection could not occur in SARS-CoV-2 infected rhesus macaques. bioRxiv 2020:2020.03.13.990226.

Am I immune after having gone through an infection?

At present, experts assume that recovered patients have only low risk of getting COVID-19 a second time. Initial studies have shown that people who experienced SARS-CoV-2 infection develop specific antibodies that can neutralize the virus in laboratory tests. However, at this stage it is unclear how robust and sustainable this immune status is built up and whether there may be differences from person to person. Experience with other coronavirus diseases such as SARS and MERS suggests that an at least partial immune status could last up to three years. To accurately assess this aspect of COVID-19 disease, longitudinal serological studies are needed to monitor the immune status of convalescents over a longer period of time [1].

[1] RKI https://www.rki.de/SharedDocs/FAQ/NCOV2019/gesamt.html

Questions about the test

Which antigen is used in the SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2?

In order to achieve high sensitivities, a mixture of recombinant highly purified nucleoprotein and S-protein of SARS-CoV-2 is used for the IgA and IgM tests. To obtain high specificities, the IgG test is based solely on the recombinant highly purified S-protein.

Why are two antigens used in SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2 IgA and IgM?

Recent studies have shown that the nucleoprotein enables early detection of antibodies, especially in mild infection courses, while the S protein, due to its lower conservation within the virus family coronaviridae, allows very specific diagnostics. By combining both antigens, Virion\Serion has succeeded in developing ELISA tests for the detection IgA and IgM antibodies that meet our demand for the best possible performance in terms of sensitivity and specificity.

Is it possible to determine a vaccination titre in the future?

The S protein on the surface of SARS-CoV-2 is a promising target for a vaccine. As a surface antigen it is easily accessible and its function is crucial for the interaction with the human cell. By binding to the human ACE2 receptor, the virus gains access to the cell. Furthermore, it is known that neutralizing antibodies are formed mainly against components of the S protein [1]. Therefore, a large part of the vaccines currently in clinical trials is based on SARS-CoV-2 S proteins.

Since the SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2 IgG uses recombinant S-protein of SARS-CoV-2, the basis for detecting antibodies produced as a result of vaccination has been laid. Whether these detected antibodies have a neutralizing effect and thus cause immune protection is generally difficult to answer with serological test systems, even for other pathogens, due to the methodology involved. For this purpose, sufficient scientific studies as well as standardized reference materials and recommendations of independent institutions must be available.

[1] Meyer B., Drosten C., and Müller M., “Serological Assays for Emerging Coronaviruses: Challenges and Pitfalls”, Virus Research 194 (December 2014)

Is there appropriate control material available?

SERION ELISA controls SARS-CoV-2 are currently under development.

Which patient material can be used?

Serum or plasma samples can be used for the SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2. Sputum, faeces, urine is not suitable.

Questions about the Antigens from SERION Immunologics

Which antigens are provided by SERION Immunologics?

Learn more here about the available SARS-Cov-2 antigens as raw material for the development of IVD test systems.

For which application can SERION Immunologics antigens be used?

SERION Immunologics offers a wide range of raw materials for in-vitro diagnostics. The recombinant SARS-CoV-2 antigens are tested for the development of ELISA and particle-based test systems such as CLIA but are also suitable for the development of lateral flow (LF) tests.

Antworten auf häufige Fragen

FAQ

Sofern Sie Fragen zu unseren SARS-CoV-2 Immunoassays oder Antigenen haben, informiert Sie gerne unser Produktionsmanagement unter pm@virion-serion.de

Bitte beachten Sie, dass wir Hersteller von Testsystemen sowie Antigenen sind und daher keine Empfehlungen zu Diagnosen und Therapiemöglichkeiten von SARS-CoV-2 aussprechen dürfen. Für Fragen zu Diagnoseempfehlungen und Therapie, kontaktieren Sie bitte Ihre Ärztin bzw. Arzt oder Ihr örtliches Gesundheitsamt.

Allgemeine Fragen

Wann ist es sinnvoll einen Antikörpertest einzusetzen?

Innerhalb der ersten Woche nach Symptombeginn wird die qRT-PCR als verlässliches Verfahren zum Nachweis einer SARS-CoV-2 Infektion eingesetzt und im weiteren Verlauf der Infektion ist die Kombination von qRT-PCR- und Antikörpertests für eine genaue Diagnose optimal [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]. Die diagnostische Sensitivität wird durch die Kombination von IgM Nachweisen mit qRT-PCR auf 98,6% erhöht – im Vergleich zur ausschließlichen Absicherung einer COVID-19 Erkrankung mittels qRT-PCR (51,9%) [3].

Der alleinige Einsatz eines Antikörpernachweis gewinnt besonders für die späteren Stadien der Infektion an Bedeutung, in denen das Virus aufgrund der Immunantwort des Wirts bereits eliminiert wurde [6]. Aktuellen Empfehlungen der kassenärztlichen Bundesvereinigung zufolge, ist es sinnvoll Antikörpertests ab zwei Wochen nach Symptombeginn einzusetzen [7].

Zusätzlich zur diagnostischen Bedeutung von Antikörpertests können diese für epidemiologische Zwecke eingesetzt werden um Individuen zu identifizieren, die nach Infektion eine Immunität entwickelt haben, die vor einer späteren Reinfektion schützen könnte [8], sowie das Ausmaß der Virusverbreitung und die Immunität einer Population auf gesellschaftlicher Ebene zu definieren und zu überwachen.

[1] To KK et al. Articles Temporal profiles of viral load in posterior oropharyngeal saliva samples and serum antibody responses during infection by SARS-CoV-2 : an observational cohort study. Lancet Infect Dis 2020;3099:1–10.

[2] Jia X. et al., “Clinical Significance of IgM and IgG Test for Diagnosis of Highly Suspected COVID-19 Infection“, preprint (Infectious Diseases (except HIV/AIDS), March 3rd 2020)

[3] Guo L. et al., “Profiling Early Humoral Response to Diagnose Novel Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19)“, Clinical Infectious Diseases, March 21st 2020,

[4] Nisreen M.A. Okba et al., “SARS-CoV-2 Specific Antibody Responses in COVID-19 Patients“, preprint (Infectious Diseases (except HIV/AIDS), March 20th 2020)

[5] Amanat F. et al., “A Serological Assay to Detect SARS-CoV-2 Seroconversion in Humans“, preprint (Allergy and Immunology, March 18th 2020)

[6] Zou L, et al. SARS-CoV-2 Viral Load in Upper Respiratory Specimens of Infected Patients. N Engl J Med 2020.

[7] kassenärztlichen Bundesvereinigung https://www.kbv.de/html/1150_46092.php

[8] Bao L, et al. Reinfection could not occur in SARS-CoV-2 infected rhesus macaques. bioRxiv 2020:2020.03.13.990226.

 

Bin ich nach durchgemachter Infektion immun?

Derzeit gehen Experten davon aus, dass genesene Patienten nur ein geringes Risiko haben, ein zweites Mal an COVID-19 zu erkranken. Erste Studien haben gezeigt, dass Personen nach durchgemachter SARS-CoV-2-Infektion spezifische Antikörper entwickeln, die das Virus in Labortesten neutralisieren können. Zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt ist allerdings unklar, wie robust und nachhaltend dieser Immunstatus aufgebaut wird und ob es möglicherweise von Mensch zu Mensch Unterschiede gibt. Die Erfahrungen mit anderen Coronavirus-Erkrankungen wie SARS und MERS deuten darauf hin, dass ein zumindest partieller Immunstatus bis zu drei Jahre anhalten könnte. Um diesen Aspekt für COVID-19 Erkrankungen genau bewerten zu können, sind serologische Längsschnittstudien erforderlich, die den Immunstatus von Rekonvaleszenten über einen längeren Zeitraum beobachten [1].

[1] RKI https://www.rki.de/SharedDocs/FAQ/NCOV2019/gesamt.html

Fragen zum Test

Welches Antigen wird im SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2 verwendet?

Um bestmögliche diagnostische Eigenschaften zu erzielen wird für den IgA und IgM Test eine Mischung aus rekombinanten hochaufgereinigtem Nucleoprotein sowie S-Protein von SARS-CoV-2 verwendet. Für den spezifischen IgG Test wird ausschließlich das S-Protein eingesetzt.

Warum werden zwei Antigene im SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2 IgA und IgM verwendet?

Jüngste Studien zeigten, dass das Nucleoprotein eine frühe Detektion von Antikörpern vor allem bei milden Infektionsverläufen ermöglicht, während das S-Protein durch seine geringere Konservierung innerhalb der Virusfamilie Coronaviridae eine sehr spezifische Diagnostik erlaubt. Durch Kombination beider Antigene ist es Virion\Serion gelungen ELISA Teste für den Nachweis von IgA und IgM-Antikörpern zu entwickeln, die unserem Anspruch auf eine bestmögliche Leistung hinsichtlich Sensitivität und Spezifität gerecht werden.

Ist es möglich damit zukünftig einen Impftiter zu bestimmen?

Das S-Protein auf der Oberfläche von SARS-CoV-2 ist ein vielversprechendes Ziel für einen Impfstoff, da es als Oberflächenantigen leicht zugänglich und in seiner Funktion entscheidend für die Interaktion mit der humanen Zelle ist. Durch Bindung an den humanen ACE2 Rezeptor verschafft sich das Virus so Zugang in die Zelle. Weiterhin ist bekannt, dass neutralisierende Antikörper maßgeblich gegen Bestandteile des S-Proteins gebildet werden [1]. Daher basiert ein Großteil der aktuell in klinischen Studien befindlichen Impfstoffe auf SARS-CoV-2 S-Proteinen.

Da im SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2 IgG das S-Protein von SARS-CoV-2 verwendet wird, ist die Grundlage gegeben, Antikörper, die aufgrund einer Impfung gebildet werden zu detektieren. Ob diese erfassten Antikörper eine neutralisierende Wirkung haben und somit einen Immunschutz erzeugen, ist generell mit serologischen Testsystemen auch für andere Erreger aufgrund der Methodik nur schwer zu beantworten. Hierfür müssen ausreichende wissenschaftliche Studien sowie standardisierte Referenzmaterialien und Empfehlungen unabhängiger Institutionen zur Verfügung stehen.

[1] Meyer B., Drosten C., and Müller M., “Serological Assays for Emerging Coronaviruses: Challenges and Pitfalls”, Virus Research 194 (December 2014)

Gibt es entsprechendes Kontrollmaterial?

SERION ELISA controls befinden sich aktuell ebenfalls in der Entwicklung.

Welches Patientenmaterial kann eingesetzt werden?

Für den SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2 können Serum oder Plasmaproben verwendet werden. Sputum, Kot, Urin ist nicht geeignet.

Wie kann der SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2 abgearbeitet werden?

Der SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2 kann sowohl manuell als auch mit unserem 4-Platten ELISA Vollautomat SERION Immunomat sowie vergleichbaren Automaten abgearbeitet werden.

Fragen zu den Antigenen von SERION Immunologics

Welche Antigene können über SERION Immunologics bezogen werden?

Hier erfahren sie mehr über die verfügbaren SARS-CoV-2 Antigene als Rohmaterial für die Entwicklung von IVD Testen.

Wo finden SERION Immunologics Antigene Anwendung?

SERION Immunologics bietet ein breites Angebot an Rohmaterialien für in-vitro Diagnostika. Die rekombinanten SARS-CoV-2 Antigene wurden für die Entwicklung von ELISA und Partikel-basierten Testsystemen wie CLIA getestet, können aber auch für die Entwicklung von lateral-flow Tests (LF) verwendet werden.