Antibody tests

SERION ELISA agile
SARS-CoV-2

To be successful in the fight against SARS-CoV-2, it is essential to closely monitor the spread of the virus to enable

  • separation of acutely infected from healthy non-infected persons: slow down the pandemic
  • pinpointing seroconverted persons: plasma donation for antibody therapy of COVID-19 patients, observation of pandemic development, collection of epidemiological data

To support these goals these goals the SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2 product line offers a unique formulation of antigens that address the different questions.

View our SARS-CoV-2 Flyer

Antibody tests

SERION ELISA agile
SARS-CoV-2

To be successful in the fight against SARS-CoV-2, it is essential to closely monitor the spread of the virus to enable

  • separation of acutely infected from healthy non-infected persons: slow down the pandemic
  • pinpointing seroconverted persons: plasma donation for antibody therapy of COVID-19 patients, observation of pandemic development, collection of epidemiological data

To support these goals these goals the SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2 product line offers a unique formulation of antigens that address the different questions.

View our SARS-CoV-2 Flyer

SERION ELISA agile SARS-COV-2 IgA & IgM

To support the diagnosis of COVID-19 and to supplement direct pathogen detection by qRT-PCR, high sensitivity on the serological test system is required. On the one hand, an early and accurate diagnosis can help to define therapeutic measures correctly and, on the other hand, infected persons can be quarantined in time, which helps to slow down the pandemic. Therefore, SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2 IgA and IgM are based on a mixture of recombinant highly purified nucleocapsid protein and whole spike protein (S1/S2 ectodomain) of SARS-CoV-2, thus mapping the most important immunogenic proteins of SARS-CoV-2.

Figure 1: Preliminary data on IgA and IgM antibody levels against SARS-CoV-2 nucleocapsid and whole spike protein over time in acute cases (follow-up sera of patients with positive PCR result). Both anti-nucleocapsid protein and whole spike protein IgA/IgM antibody levels rise in trend.

The combined use of the nucleocapsid protein and the whole spike protein ensures high sensitivity (Figure 3)

Figure 3: Preliminary data on the anti-SARS-CoV-2 IgA and IgM antibody profile obtained with a microparticle-based test system (beads were coated with either S1, S2, whole Spike or Nucleocapsid of SARS-CoV-2). The data shown are a representative selection from a total of 337 sera tested (including PCR positive patient sera, sera with suspected infection, blood donor sera, potentially cross-reactive sera) and clearly show that the use of the whole spike protein and the nucleocapsid protein achieves high sensitivities while maintaining high specificities.

SERION ELISA agile SARS-COV-2 IgA & IgM

To support the diagnosis of COVID-19 and to supplement direct pathogen detection by qRT-PCR, high sensitivity on the serological test system is required. On the one hand, an early and accurate diagnosis can help to define therapeutic measures correctly and, on the other hand, infected persons can be quarantined in time, which helps to slow down the pandemic. Therefore, SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2 IgA and IgM are based on a mixture of recombinant highly purified nucleocapsid protein and whole spike protein (S1/S2 ectodomain) of SARS-CoV-2, thus mapping the most important immunogenic proteins of SARS-CoV-2.

Figure 1: Preliminary data on IgA and IgM antibody levels against SARS-CoV-2 nucleocapsid and whole spike protein over time in acute cases (follow-up sera of patients with positive PCR result). Both anti-nucleocapsid protein and whole spike protein IgA/IgM antibody levels rise in trend.

The combined use of the nucleocapsid protein and the whole spike protein ensures high sensitivity (Figure 3)

Figure 3: Preliminary data on the anti-SARS-CoV-2 IgA and IgM antibody profile obtained with a microparticle-based test system (beads were coated with either S1, S2, whole Spike or Nucleocapsid of SARS-CoV-2). The data shown are a representative selection from a total of 337 sera tested (including PCR positive patient sera, sera with suspected infection, blood donor sera, potentially cross-reactive sera) and clearly show that the use of the whole spike protein and the nucleocapsid protein achieves high sensitivities while maintaining high specificities.

SERION ELISA agile SARS-COV-2 IgG

In contrast to acute diagnostics, the detection of anti-SARS-CoV-2 IgG antibodies for pathogen contact confirmation, requires a high specificity of the serological test system. False-positive results would suggest a possible immunity, which not only has a negative effect on the individual but also on the social level (spread of the pandemic). Since immunity is mediated by protective antibodies, which in case of SARS-CoV-2 IgG are mainly formed against the spike protein, the SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2 IgG is based exclusively on the whole spike protein (S1/S2 ectodomain). The use of the whole spike protein compared to a single protein domain (S1, S2 or RBD) increases the sensitivity of the test while maintaining the same specificity (Figure 2).

This specific test setup also offers the possibility of screening for potential donors with protective antibodies whose plasma can be used for therapeutic purposes.

Of course, antigens are used that are produced in house under controlled conditions. Recombinant expression in eukaryotic cells comes closet to natural conditions and high batch comparability and constant availability is guaranteed by expression in bioreactor systems.

Figure 2: Preliminary data on the anti-SARS-CoV-2 IgG antibody profile obtained with a microparticle-based test system (beads were coated with either S1, S2 or whole Spike). The data shown are a representative selection from a total of 337 sera tested (including PCR positive patient sera, sera with suspected infection, blood donor sera, potentially cross-reactive sera) and clearly show that the whole spike protein leads to increased sensitivity while maintaining the same specificity.

Highlights IgA, IgM & IgG:

  • Sensitive IgM and IgA Assay as an ideal supplement to direct pathogen detection by combined use of nucleocapsid and whole spike protein
  • Speficic IgG assay by exclusive use of the whole spike protein for various applications: determination of immune status, collection of epidemiological data or data on pandemic development, screening of plasma donors for therapeutic purposes
  • In house produced antigens guaranteed reliable and reproducible results and sufficient production quantities
  • CE-marked assays to support in the diagnosis of COVID-19

For questions regarding our antibody tests please contact our product management: pm@virion-serion.de

Antikörpertest

SERION ELISA agile
SARS-CoV-2

Um im Kampf gegen SARS-CoV-2 erfolgreich zu sein, ist es essentiell die Ausbreitung des Virus genau zu beobachten. Dies ermöglicht die

  • Trennung akut Infizierter von gesunden nicht infizierten Personen: Verlangsamung der Pandemie
  • Identifizierung serokonvertierter Personen: Plasmaspende für die Therapie von COVID-19 Patienten, Überblick über die Pandemieentwicklung, Erhebung epidemiologischer Daten

Um diese Ziele zu unterstützen bietet die SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2 Produktlinie eine einzigartige Formulierung von Antigenen, die die unterschiedlichen Fragestellungen aufgreifen.

Zu unserem SARS-CoV-2 Flyer

Antikörpertest

SERION ELISA agile
SARS-CoV-2

Um im Kampf gegen SARS-CoV-2 erfolgreich zu sein, ist es essentiell die Ausbreitung des Virus genau zu beobachten. Dies ermöglicht die

  • Trennung akut Infizierter von gesunden nicht infizierten Personen: Verlangsamung der Pandemie
  • Identifizierung serokonvertierter Personen: Plasmaspende für die Therapie von COVID-19 Patienten, Überblick über die Pandemieentwicklung, Erhebung epidemiologischer Daten

Um diese Ziele zu unterstützen bietet die SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2 Produktlinie eine einzigartige Formulierung von Antigenen, die die unterschiedlichen Fragestellungen aufgreifen.

Zu unserem SARS-CoV-2 Flyer

SERION ELISA agile SARS-COV-2 IgA & IgM

Zur Unterstützung der Diagnose von COVID-19 und zur Ergänzung zum Erregerdirektnachweis ist eine hohe Sensitivität an das serologische Testsystem gefordert. Zum einen kann eine frühe und exakte Diagnose zur korrekten Definierung von therapeutischen Maßnahmen beitragen und zum anderen können infizierte Personen sich rechtzeitig in Quarantäne begeben, was zur Verlangsamung der Pandemie beiträgt. Daher basieren die SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2 IgA und IgM auf einer Mischung aus rekombinanten hochaufgereinigten Nukleocapsidprotein sowie whole Spike Protein (S1/S2 Ectodomäne) von SARS-CoV-2. Damit sind die wichtigsten immunogenen Proteine von SARS-CoV-2 abgebildet.

Abbildung 1: Vorläufige Daten zu IgA und IgM Antikörperspiegel gegen SARS-CoV-2 Nucleocapsid Protein und whole Spike Protein im zeitlichen Verlauf bei akuten Fällen (Verlaufsseren von Patienten mit positivem PCR Ergebnis). Sowohl Anti-Nucleocapsid-Protein als auch whole Spike Protein IgA/IgM Antikörperspiegel steigen im Trend an.

Durch die gleichzeitige Verwendung des Nucleocapsidproteins und des whole Spike Proteins ist eine hohe Sensitivität gewährleistet (Abbildung 3)

Abbildung 3: Vorläufige Daten zum anti-SARS-CoV-2 IgA und IgM Antikörperprofil, die mit einem Mikropartikel-basiertem Testsystem erhoben wurden (die Beads wurden entweder mit S1, S2, whole Spike oder dem Nucleocapsidprotein von SARS-CoV-2 gekoppelt). Die gezeigten Daten sind eine repräsentative Auswahl aus insgesamt 337 getesteten Seren (darunter PCR positive Patientenseren, Seren mit Verdacht auf eine Infektion, Blutspenderseren, potentiell kreuzreaktive Seren) und zeigen deutlich, dass die Verwendung des whole Spike Proteins und des Nucleocapsidproteins eine hohe Sensitivität bei sehr guter Spezifität erzielt .

SERION ELISA agile SARS-COV-2 IgA & IgM

Zur Unterstützung der Diagnose von COVID-19 und zur Ergänzung zum Erregerdirektnachweis ist eine hohe Sensitivität an das serologische Testsystem gefordert. Zum einen kann eine frühe und exakte Diagnose zur korrekten Definierung von therapeutischen Maßnahmen beitragen und zum anderen können infizierte Personen sich rechtzeitig in Quarantäne begeben, was zur Verlangsamung der Pandemie beiträgt. Daher basieren die SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2 IgA und IgM auf einer Mischung aus rekombinanten hochaufgereinigten Nukleocapsidprotein sowie whole Spike Protein (S1/S2 Ectodomäne) von SARS-CoV-2. Damit sind die wichtigsten immunogenen Proteine von SARS-CoV-2 abgebildet.

Abbildung 1: Vorläufige Daten zu IgA und IgM Antikörperspiegel gegen SARS-CoV-2 Nucleocapsid Protein und whole Spike Protein im zeitlichen Verlauf bei akuten Fällen (Verlaufsseren von Patienten mit positivem PCR Ergebnis). Sowohl Anti-Nucleocapsid-Protein als auch whole Spike Protein IgA/IgM Antikörperspiegel steigen im Trend an.

Durch die gleichzeitige Verwendung des Nucleocapsidproteins und des whole Spike Proteins ist eine hohe Sensitivität gewährleistet (Abbildung 3)

Abbildung 3: Vorläufige Daten zum anti-SARS-CoV-2 IgA und IgM Antikörperprofil, die mit einem Mikropartikel-basiertem Testsystem erhoben wurden (die Beads wurden entweder mit S1, S2, whole Spike oder dem Nucleocapsidprotein von SARS-CoV-2 gekoppelt). Die gezeigten Daten sind eine repräsentative Auswahl aus insgesamt 337 getesteten Seren (darunter PCR positive Patientenseren, Seren mit Verdacht auf eine Infektion, Blutspenderseren, potentiell kreuzreaktive Seren) und zeigen deutlich, dass die Verwendung des whole Spike Proteins und des Nucleocapsidproteins eine hohe Sensitivität bei sehr guter Spezifität erzielt .

SERION ELISA agile SARS-COV-2 IgG

Im Gegensatz zur Akutdiagnostik, wird für den Nachweis eines Erregerkontakts mittels Detektion von anti-SARS-CoV-2 IgG Antikörpern eine hohe Spezifität an das serologische Testsystem gefordert. Falsch-positive Ergebnisse würden hier eine mögliche Immunität suggerieren, was sich negativ auf den Einzelnen aber auch auf gesellschaftlicher Ebene auswirkt (Ausbereitung der Pandemie). Da die Immunität durch protektive Antikörper vermittelt wird, die im Fall von SARS-CoV-2 vorwiegend gegen das Spike Protein gebildet werden, basiert der SERION ELISA agile SARS-CoV-2 IgG ausschließlich auf dem whole Spike Protein (S1/S2 Ectodomäne). Die Verwendung des whole Spike Proteins im Vergleich zu einer einzelnen Proteindomäne (S1, S2 oder RBD) erhöht die Sensitivität des Tests bei gleichbleibender Spezifität (Abbildung 2).

Dieses spezifische Testsetup bietet zudem noch die Möglichkeit, nach potentiellen Spendern mit protektiven Antikörpern zu screenen, deren Plasma für therapeutische Zwecke eingesetzt werden kann.

Natürlich werden Antigene verwendet, die unter kontrollierten Bedingungen selbst hergestellt werden. Die rekombinante Expression in eukaryotischen Zellen kommt den natürlichen Bedingungen am nächsten und hohe Chargenvergleichbarkeit und ständige Verfügbarkeit wird durch die Expression in Bioreaktorsystemen garantiert.

Abbildung 2: Vorläufige Daten zum anti-SARS-CoV-2 IgG Antikörperprofil, die mit einem Mikropartikel-basiertem Testsystem erhoben wurden (die Beads wurden entweder mit S1, S2 oder whole Spike gekoppelt). Die gezeigten Daten sind eine repräsentative Auswahl aus insgesamt 337 getesteten Seren (darunter PCR positive Patientenseren, Seren mit Verdacht auf eine Infektion, Blutspenderseren, potentiell kreuzreaktive Seren) und zeigen deutlich, dass das whole Spike Protein zu einer erhöhten Sensitivität bei gleichbleibender Spezifität führt.

Highlights IgA, IgM & IgG:

  • Sensitiver IgM und IgA Assay als ideale Ergänzung zum Erregerdirektnachweis durch kombinierten Einsatz von Nucleocapsid- und whole Spike-Protein
  • Spezifischer IgG Assay durch ausschließliche Verwendung des whole Spike-Proteins; vielfältig einsetzbar: Bestimmung des Immunstatus, Erhebung epidemiologischer Daten bzw. Daten zur der Pandemieentwicklung, Screening von Plasmaspendern für therapeutische Zwecke
  • In house produzierte Antigene garantieren zuverlässige und reproduzierbare Ergebnisse sowie ausreichende Produktionsmengen
  • CE-gekennzeichnete Assays zur Unterstützung der Diagnose von COVID-19

 

Bei Fragen rund um unsere Antikörpertests kontaktieren Sie bitte unser Produktmanagement: pm@virion-serion.de