Now available!

Fully automatable Anti-SARS-CoV-2 ELISAs based on high quality antigens

View our SARS-CoV-2 Antibody tests

SARS-CoV-2 IgA, IgG & IgM

SERION ELISA agile

Worldwide spreading of SARS-CoV-2

A global challenge

Since mid-December 2019, the pathogen Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) has been on the rise and the global spread of Coronavirus Disease 19 (COVID-19) was declared a pandemic by the WHO on March 11th, 2020.

Typical clinical symptoms of these affected patients are fever, dry cough, difficulty breathing (shortness of breath), headache and pneumonia. Severe disease progressions result in respiratory arrest due to alveolar damage, septic shock and/or multiple organ dysfunction or failure, which can lead to death. The number of cases in Germany but also worldwide continues to rise [1, 2, 3, 4].

Therapy depends on the severity of the disease and consists primarily of supportive measures. Various antiviral agents have been prioritized for investigation (e.g. by the WHO) in clinical trials in COVID-19 patients in the last few months. On July 3, 2020, the European Commission granted conditional approval for Remdesivir (Veklury®) [5].

In order to control the spread of the virus, most of the affected countries use contact restriction measures as well as extensive laboratory diagnostic of sick people and people who had contact with COVID-19 patients, such as hospital or nursing staff.

References
[1] Zhou P. et al., “A Pneumonia Outbreak Associated with a New Coronavirus of Probable Bat Origin“, Nature 579, Nr. 7798 (March 2020): 270–73
[2] Peeri NC et al., “The SARS, MERS and Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) Epidemics, the Newest and Biggest Global Health Threats: What Lessons Have We Learned?“ International Journal of Epidemiology, Februar 22nd. 2020
[3] He F, Deng Y and Li W, “Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID‐19): What We Know?“, Journal of Medical Virology, March 14th 2020
[4] Nisreen M.A. Okba et al., “SARS-CoV-2 Specific Antibody Responses in COVID-19 Patients“, preprint (Infectious Diseases (except HIV/AIDS), March 20th 2020)
[5] STAKOB am RKI, Hinweise zu Erkennung, Diagnostik und Therapie von Patienten mit COVID-19

View our SARS-CoV-2 Antibody tests

Ab sofort verfügbar!

Voll automatisierbare Anti-SARS-CoV-2 ELISAs 
basierend auf qualitativ hochwertigen Antigenen

Zu unseren SARS-CoV-2 Antikörpertests

SARS-CoV-2 IgA, IgG & IgM

SERION ELISA agile

Weltweite Ausbreitung von SARS-CoV-2

Eine globale Herausforderung

Seit Mitte Dezember 2019 befindet sich der Erreger Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) auf dem Vormarsch und die weltweite Ausbreitung der Erkrankung Coronavirus Disease 19 (COVID-19) wurde am 11.03.2020 von der WHO zu einer Pandemie erklärt.

Typische klinische Symptome dieser Patienten sind Fieber, trockener Husten, Atembeschwerden (Atemnot), Kopfschmerzen und Lungenentzündung. Bei schweren Krankheitsverläufen kommt es zum Atemstillstand aufgrund von Alveolarschädigungen, septischem Schock und / oder zu multiplen Organfunktionsstörungen bzw. Organversagen, was zum Tode führen kann. Die Zahl der Fälle in Deutschland, aber auch weltweit steigt weiter an [1, 2, 3, 4].

Die Therapie richtet sich nach der Schwere der Erkrankung und besteht in erster Linie aus unterstützenden Maßnahmen. Verschiedene antivirale Wirkstoffe wurden in den vergangenen Monaten, u.a. von der WHO für die Untersuchung in klinischen Studien bei COVID-19 Patienten priorisiert. Am 03.Juli 2020 hat die Europäische Kommission die bedingte Zulassung für Remdesivir (Veklury®) erteilt [5] .

Um die Verbreitung des Virus unter Kontrolle zu bringen, setzt ein Großteil der betroffenen Länder Maßnahmen zur Kontaktbeschränkung sowie umfangreiche labordiagnostische Testungen kranker Personen und Personen, die Kontakt mit COVID-19 Patienten hatten, wie z.B. Klinik- oder Pflegepersonal, ein.

Literatur
[1] Zhou P. et al., “A Pneumonia Outbreak Associated with a New Coronavirus of Probable Bat Origin“, Nature 579, Nr. 7798 (March 2020): 270–73
[2] Peeri NC et al., “The SARS, MERS and Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) Epidemics, the Newest and Biggest Global Health Threats: What Lessons Have We Learned?“ International Journal of Epidemiology, Februar 22nd. 2020
[3] He F, Deng Y and Li W, “Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID‐19): What We Know?“, Journal of Medical Virology, March 14th 2020
[4] Nisreen M.A. Okba et al., “SARS-CoV-2 Specific Antibody Responses in COVID-19 Patients“, preprint (Infectious Diseases (except HIV/AIDS), March 20th 2020)
[5] STAKOB am RKI, Hinweise zu Erkennung, Diagnostik und Therapie von Patienten mit COVID-19

Zu unseren SARS-CoV-2 Antikörpertests